Sunday, June 25, 2017

Matt Kanak Resigns from School Board

The Worth County School Board accepted the resignation of Matt Kanak from the Worth County School Board at their regular meeting Thursday. The board will take applications for a new board member and pick one at their regular meeting next month on July 24th.

In other action, the board accepted a contract from MFA Oil for $16,996.59 and $12,168.00 for the diesel fuel contract for the 2017-2018 school year.

The board voted to purchase a basketball rebounding machine for $6,270 using funds donated from patrons.

The board authorized Superintendent Dr. Matt Martz to transfer up to $162,326 to the Capital Projects Fund for facility improvements between now and the end of the 2022-2023 school year.

The board allowed current teachers to take a new step on the salary schedule, approved a salary increase for Loren Jackson, gave non-certified staff a raise, and set administrator school salaries. Salary for the Elementary Principal was set at $64,422, the High School Principal at $70,476, and the Superintendent at $92,236.

Saturday, June 24, 2017

Karla Hawk Forced to Kiss the Pig at Sheridan Rodeo

Four contestants, Karla Hawk, Jana Findley, Justin Rush, and Jeff Blaine vied for a lottery that they did not want to win – the lottery to kiss the pig at the Sheridan Rodeo. People donated money into money jars at Snakebite, and Hawk was the unlucky winner after all the money was counted. Speculation that maybe the local preacher might need to be set back on the straight and narrow, or that Findley might need a reminder of who controls the taxpayer dollars did not materialize. It took some coaxing for her to do so, but Hawk finally knelt down and kissed the big. She had to be reminded that she ate bacon on a regular basis, so what was the problem?

Emily Thomas Named Miss Defiance

Emily Thomas was named Miss Defiance Thursday evening, in the first such contest ever. She was chosen from four contestants. Contestants answered questions from judges before the winner was selected. Emily participated in the Parade and attended the Rodeo both nights. She is the daughter of Dave and Toni Thomas of Sheridan. Also participating were Macie Staton, Dayna Rowen, and Olivia Davidson.

Wednesday, June 21, 2017

Obituary -- Juanita Wolverton 1915-2017

Funeral Services for Juanita Vella Wolverton, age 101, will be held Monday, June 19, 2017 at the Ritchie Funeral Home in Bedford, Iowa at 10 A.M. Visitation will be held from 9:30 A.M. Monday morning until service time. Interment will be held at Hopkins cemetery following the service. Memorials may be given in Vella's name. 

Juanita Vella (Warner) Wolverton was born August 4, 1915 near Lamoni, Iowa to Lewis A. and Susie (Gray) Warner. She was united in marriage to Rolland Lee (Rollie) Wolverton on November 29, 1930. To this blessed union two children were born Twyla Lee in 1933 and Ronald Warner in 1936. 

Rollie and Vella farmed near Bedford and sold honey in several states. Vella spent her life being a servant to her Lord and Savior and caring for her family and friends. 

Preceding Vella in death were her parents, husband Rollie, daughter Twyla Lee Young and son Ronald Warner. Left to mourn her passing are four grandchildren; Randy (Marge) Young, Riley (Kristie) Young, Radeana (Jim) Thomas, Carla (Larry) Vore, a sister Charlotte Bowman, along with numerous great grandchildren, great-great grandchildren, and great nieces and nephews.

WoCo Fest Set for July 29th

The first annual WoCo Fest will be held Saturday, July 29th at the Worth County Pool Park. The events have been lined out for the day.

At 8 am, the Grant City Lions will be having a Pancake Breakfast at the shelter house. At 10 am, the #ColorMeWoco Color Run registration will start. The run itself will start at 11, followed by a BBQ Lunch served at the shelter house. The lunch will be served by the Worth County Fire Protection District.

There will be three different activities going on from 10-2 sponsored by local organizations. The Methodist Church will be providing an inflatable obstacle course. The Grant City CBC will have kids' inflatable fun, while the Worth County Ambulance will be providing carnival games.

At 12:30, registration for the Baby Show will start; it will be held at 1. Also at 1, the Grant City Swimming Pool will open for a free swim. From 1-6 pm, the Sheridan Fire & Rescue will sponsor a Bingo. At 1:30, registration will start for the Sand Volleyball Tournament and the Bags (Cornhole) Tournament, both of which will start at 2.

There will be face painting and snow cones all day.

For Sheridan residents, the bridge at 246 will continue to be closed, while the one near Isadora is expected to reopen. Take Ash Avenue to the former Johnny Bainum residence; there will be an intersection. There will be a sign pointing to the McLaughlin Cemetery to the right; however, take a left instead until you get to 46, then take a left. Allow 25-30 minutes for driving.

Eagleville Teen Injured in Wreck

An Eagleville teen was injured in a wreck Wednesday morning. The Missouri State Highway Patrol reports that a 2004 Dodge Truck was driven by Logan Huitt (16) of Eagleville and a 2011 International Diesel was driven by Gary Nerison (59) of Auburn (NE). The accident occurred in Love's Truck Stop parking lot at around 9:35 am. The Patrol reports that the Dodge Truck driven by Huitt failed to yield the right of way to the Diesel, striking it in the left front. Both vehicles came to rest on their wheels at the location. Huitt received moderate injuries and was taken to Harrison County Community Hospital. He was not wearing a seat belt at the time of the accident.

One Seriously Injured in Wreck Near Graham

One person was seriously injured in a wreck near Graham on Route 71 at Route A Tuesday, June 20th. The Missouri State Highway Patrol reports that a 1991 Peterbuilt Truck driven by James Linville (74) of Graham and a 2001 Chevy Malibu driven by Allison Gresham (37) of Maryville were southbound on Route 71 when Gresham failed to notice the Peterbuilt, striking its rear. After impact, the Peterbuilt continued southbound, dragging the Malibu with it. Gresham received serious injuries and was taken to Mosaic Life Care. She was wearing a seat belt at the time of the accident.